• Pip
  • 5 posts
  • 1 topics
  • My Saxophone:Alto - Trevor James Signature
  • My Mouthpiece:Selmer C*
  • Years Of Playing:2 on and off

Posted 26 March 2012 - 03:20 AM

Hi
I have been learning the Alto Sax on and off for about two years now. I have a Trevor James Signature Sax (Silver Plated) with a Selmer C* Mouthpiece and a Strength 3 Vandoren Java Reed.
The problem I am having is that when I move from a hight note to a low note the high note seems to continue for a split second before I hear the low note I am trying to play. I am not sure if my Sax needs tuning or it is a problem with my Embouchre. Any help/advice would be appreciated.
Tony

#2 Ken Ng

Ken Ng

Administrator

• Administrators
  • 478 posts
  • 115 topics
  • My Saxophone:Maxtone Alto
  • My Mouthpiece:Beechler Bellite 8
  • Years Of Playing:7 years

Posted 26 March 2012 - 06:56 AM

Try a harder Reed? Or try a different mouthpiece. Or try lower your embouchure When you hit the low Note. Do not push it anymore. However I use my tongue and embouchure to do the trick from high to low notes. do not know how to explain this.

Saxophone Community - Admin

One of the best Saxophone Forum out there! - Resources for Saxophonist

#3 TonyK

TonyK

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • 1 topics

Posted 26 March 2012 - 07:27 AM

Many thanks Ken. I will try what you say.

#4 ravenek

ravenek

Advanced Saxophone Player

• Moderators
  • 48 posts
  • 3 topics
  • My Saxophone:YAS275
  • My Mouthpiece:Beechler 7
  • Years Of Playing:8

Posted 26 March 2012 - 08:46 AM