• Pip
  • 9 posts
  • 3 topics
  • My Saxophone:Bauhaus Alto
  • My Mouthpiece:Yamaha
  • Years Of Playing:Beginner

Posted 06 May 2013 - 04:23 PM

Hi ,

I am just a beginner, sometimes suddenly during practise I start to squeek or you hear a sound as if there are bubbles or something down the horn lol ;/ and then it will happen again for the rest untill I change the reed and dry everything inside. Is this normal ?

Is there something that I am supposed to do or not :S

Thanks

#2 Lausax

Lausax

Advanced Saxophone Player

• Moderators
  • 78 posts
  • 5 topics

Posted 07 May 2013 - 08:04 AM

Not sure, but probably this depend by you and your bite on the mouthpiece. I think the "bubbles" are caused by your spittle, but it's strange if you clean your instrument! Maybe, it depends by the way you blow. Try to not be too aggressive :)

Guys, if you need some help, call me. Call me also if you want a specific article for the "Front Page News".

There isn't a best reed in general, but for each of us there is a "special" reed or there ARE some reeds that we love. Sax is a very sensible instrument: the smallest variation is enough to change the sound, for example the position of the reed or the weather.

• Generally, there isn't a superior reed.
  • We must try different reeds.
  • We must understand by ourselves which reed (or reeds) is the best for us.

#3 Omniflake

Omniflake

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • 3 topics
  • My Saxophone:Bauhaus Alto
  • Years Of Playing:Beginner

Posted 07 May 2013 - 02:42 PM

Not sure, but probably this depend by you and your bite on the mouthpiece. I think the "bubbles" are caused by your spittle, but it's strange if you clean your instrument! Maybe, it depends by the way you blow. Try to not be too aggressive :)

I practised today for a very long time ( 6.30 - 9 and then 10- 1 and thank god no squeeks or that weird bubble sound hehe ! I think as you said it is related to how my mouth is placed and the spittle.